RSS Feed

Carnicera El Mercadito…aka Panizzo?

Posted on

Somehow I forgot to take a picture of this place.  However, I got a picture of their sign.

The thing is, I’m pretty sure this place isn’t actually called Panizzo.  Panizzo brings to mind images of a cheesy faux-Italian sandwich place, which this place is definitely not.  Google is telling me it’s called Carnicera El Mercadito, so we’ll go with that.  Whatever it’s called, it’s located on the corner of Muris Chapel and W. Market.

“Awesome Taco Place” would be another fitting name for it.  Check out the generous avocado slices!


M and I both ordered tacos.  I got two chorizo and two lengua.  M ordered two chorixo and two carnitas.  For the unitiated, lengua is

tongue.  Don’t let this scare you, it’s really good.  (Ok it’s a little scary, I just tried to listen to my mouth and not my brain.)  It tastes like

very tender pot roast.  With the acidic green salsa, the creamy avocado and the crunch of the onions, it was realllly good.  The queso

fresco on top is a nice touch too.

The picture above shows another highlight.  Not the styrofoam, the hunk of dough on the right side in the background.  Masa.  There was a lady cranking out fresh tortillas nonstop and throwing them on the griddle.  Fresh tortillas rock.  You can buy stacks of them in a cooler up by the register, and they obviously use them when you order tacos.

Like the other place down the road, they also have a bakery section.

There was much more to it than this too.  In addition, they also have a meat counter and a nice selection of groceries.  They had a lot of dried chile peppers including some varieties I had never heard of.  There are probably 10-12 tables inside, and it was jammin’ on a Sunday afternoon.

Try the lengua!

R

5 responses »

  1. Thanks for the review!

    I have been to the bakery but will now try the restaurant.
    Fresh tortillas are great! I will pick some up.

    Wes

    Reply
  2. Jessica Bower

    Looks great! I will have to check it out. I went to the bakery when they first opened, but I need to have some tacos with big pieces of avocado 🙂 Good for you for trying the lengua – I’m not that brave 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: El Camino Real « Good Eats In Greensboro

  4. Pingback: Update: El Mercadito | Good Eats In Greensboro

Leave a Reply

