RSS Feed

I <3 Pho Asian Cuisine

Posted on

I ❤ Pho Asian Cuisine – 4715 High Point Rd

No matter where you come from, I think it's safe to say that nothing hits the spot on a cold rainy day like a big bowl of warm soup.

I Love Pho

My first introduction to pho was in Springfield, VA outside of Washington DC. M was working in DC at the time, but I was still in school. I’d come up to visit her Thursday and stay through the weekend, and to pass the time on Friday I would go eat at different ethnic restaurants. Hey, we all have our things.

toppings

Pho is a broth based soup filled with rice noodles and your choice of meat, including some interesting choices like ‘tendon’. The first thing to come out when you order pho is a huge basket filled with fresh basil, cilantro, bean sprouts, lime and jalepeno slices. At this point you realize you probably made a good decision.

Pho

The soup that follows is a mix of familiar and new, with rice vermicelli noodles, meat (in this case brisket and flank), maybe a few onion slices and plenty of rich and heady broth. It’s like your mom bringing you a bowl of chicken noodle soup when you have a cold, if your mom was Vietnamese. Maybe she is, I don’t know!

At this point you can doctor your pho up however you choose with any of the above accouterments, as well as hoison sauce, sriracha, fish sauce and other options. I ❤ Pho also offers a variety of stirfried dishes and other entrees. M ordered the lemongrass chicken noodle bowl, which was killer as well.

lemongrass chicken

If you’re looking for good Vietnamese in Greensboro, especially good pho, you’ve got to try I ❤ Pho.

Leave a Reply

